Accessibility

Wheelchair Access

Geva Theatre Center’s Wilson Stage, Fielding Stage and restrooms are accessible to patrons who use wheelchairs, scooters and walkers. If you require wheelchair accessible seating, please inform the box office when you reserve tickets.  Wheelchair accessible seating is also available for purchase online.

Assistive Listening

FM Assistive Listening devices are available free of charge for audience members in both the Wilson Stage and Fielding Stage who are hard of hearing. Headset receivers may be obtained prior to performance time at the coat check, located adjacent to the main entrance. A major credit card or form of ID is collected as a security deposit. A personal induction loop that can be worn around the neck may also be obtained with the device to enable the use of a hearing aid T-switch.

Geva’s Assistive Listening System is sponsored by the Hearing Loss Association of America – Rochester Chapter, J. Stuart & Phyllis I. MacDonald and the Hearing Clarity Fund.

Sign Interpretation

A Sign Language Interpreted performance is offered for every Wilson Stage Series production. Be sure to mention your interest in sign-interpretation when reserving tickets, or select the house right section of the orchestra in the Wilson Stage in order to secure the most advantageous seating. Prologue, the informative talk which is given before every Wilson Stage performance, will also be interpreted on the Sign Interpreted dates.

Sign Interpreted Performance Dates

In the Heights
Thursday, September 28, 2017 at 7:30pm

The Agitators
Thursday, November 9, 2017 at 7:30pm

A Christmas Carol
Thursday, December 14, 2017 at 7:00pm

The Other Josh Cohen
Thursday, February 1, 2018 at 7:30pm

The Diary of Anne Frank
Thursday, March 8, 2018 at 7:30pm

One House Over
Thursday, April 26, 2018 at 7:30pm

Steel Magnolias
Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:30pm

To purchase tickets by phone, please call the Box Office at (585) 232-4382.

Audio Description

The third Sunday matinee performance of every Wilson Stage Series production is Audio-Described by a live narrator for patrons who are blind or visually impaired. The pre-performance description of sets and costumes begins after Prologue, at approximately 20 minutes prior to curtain, and visual details are verbalized during the performance.

 

Audio-description receivers and Braille programs are available in the lobby. A major credit card or form of ID is collected as a security deposit for the receiver, and patrons may keep the Braille programs.

If you will be bringing your guide dog to the theatre, please inform the box office and request an aisle or front row seat so that we can make appropriate seating accommodations.

Audio-Described Performance Dates

In the Heights
Sunday, September 24, 2017 at 2:00pm

The Agitators
Sunday, November 5, 2017 at 2:00pm

A Christmas Carol
Sunday, December 10, 2017 at 12:00pm

The Other Josh Cohen
Sunday, January 28, 2018 at 2:00pm

The Diary of Anne Frank
Sunday, March 4, 2018 at 2:00pm

One House Over
Sunday, April 22, 2018 at 2:00pm

Steel Magnolias
Sunday, May 27, 2018 at 2:00pm

To purchase tickets by phone, please call the Box Office at (585) 232-4382.

Open Captioning

Open Captioning for patrons with hearing loss is provided during the 1st Saturday matinee and both performances of the final Wednesday of each Wilson Stage Series production (the 1st Sunday matinee for A Christmas Carol); and the first Saturday matinee of each Fielding Stage Series production. When booking your seats, mention your interest in open captioning in order to secure the most advantageous view of the display on the right of the stage.

Open Captioned Performance Dates

In the Heights
Saturday, September 9, 2017 at 2:00pm
Wednesday, October 4, 2017 at 2:00pm & 7:30pm

Smart People
Saturday, October 7, 2017 at 2:30pm

The Agitators
Saturday, October 21, 2017 at 2:00pm
Wednesday, November 8, 2017 at 2:00pm & 7:30pm

A Christmas Carol
Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 12:00pm
Wednesday, December 20, 2017 at 2:00pm & 7:00pm

The Marvelous Wonderettes: Caps and Gowns
Saturday, December 9, 2017 at 2:30pm

The Other John Cohen
Saturday, January 13, 2018 at 2:00pm
Wednesday, January 31. 2018 at 2:00pm & 7:30pm

Erma Bombeck: At Wit’s End
Saturday, January 27, 2018 at 2:30pm

The Diary of Anne Frank
Saturday, February 17, 2018 at 2:00pm
Wednesday, March 7, 2018 at 2:00pm & 7:30pm

Heartland
Saturday, March 17, 2018 at 2:30pm

One House Over
Saturday, April 7, 2018 at 2:00pm
Wednesday, April 25, 2018 at 2:00pm & 7:30pm

Steel Magnolias
Saturday, May 12, 2018 at 2:00pm
Wednesday, May 30, 2018 at 2:00pm & 7:30pm

To purchase tickets by phone, please call the Box Office at (585) 232-4382.